Skip to content

Cornish Wanderlust

April 12, 2017

I’ve just finished reading Rising Ground, a book about the spirit of place and author Philip Marsden’s own exploration of the Cornish landscape. It initially appealed to me because of my own love to the county and I wasn’t disappointed. The descriptions have a beautiful, lyrical quality to them and I feel like I’ve learnt so much about this place I call home. It has also made me want to explore as much of Cornwall as possible. The only word I can think to describe this feeling I have is wanderlust.

Cornwall is such a fascinating place, and I feel lucky to live here but I do take it for granted sometimes. There are so many places I haven’t been to, and I want to get out and see them. Then there are the places and areas that are familiar to me, mainly around Falmouth, that I want to go back to and re-immerse myself in.

Each coast and area has it’s own distinct character. The North Coast is rugged and sea battered. On day trips over there I always feel remote and cut off. There was a beach I discovered last year, near to Pendeen lighthouse, which was just stunning. The sand was golden, the sun was bright and the sea crashed onto the rocks. I would love to go back there. Then there are the sheltered harbours and winding creeks around the area I live to explore. I love going on boat trips to St Mawes or walking around the paths of the Helford River. There are also my favourite childhood places, like the shell caves at the Princess Pavilion, that I still visit and always bring back magical memories.

So now the weather is gradually getting better, and the days are longer I’m going to try and get out to explore as much as possible.

All this from reading one book!

From → Cornwall

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.